Coffee Shop Encounters

My job allows me to telecommute which is really great but being a twenty something year old I really don’t like sitting at home by myself for nine hours a day so I frequent two different coffee shops.  I’ve had a number of odd/awkward encounters at these coffee shops but then again I always seem to attract some interesting characters that think for some reason I want to listen to them.

Here is a list of some of the unique individuals I have met:

  1. Bible Bro

When I work I am always on my computer and almost always have my headphones in.  On this particular occasion I didn’t have my headphones in, rookie mistake. Fairly randomly this older man asked me what I was doing on my computer. He was very nice and assumed I was a student so I explained my job and what I did. It was a normal conversation until he asked me if I went to church in the area and I politely replied, “No, I don’t really attend church.” He looked at me with such disdain that I felt like I had to explain myself. He proceeded to tell me what churches were nearby and how I should really consider attending one and finding my place while I’m young. It was really awkward and unexpected and not something I anticipated ever dealing with at this coffee shop.

  1. 2. Hot Dad

What prompted me to write this post was my second run in with the hot dad.  The first instance happened when I was, as usual, wearing my school colors. Hot dad is about 6’ 2” with dark hair and is well built. He approached me while I was waiting for my order saying he was applying to my school for his PhD and wanted to know what I thought about it. If you know me you know I’m slightly obsessed with my college so I gushed about it for a while and we continued to chat for a bit about what I did and what he wanted to study.  Any chance I get to talk about my school I do, so the conversation was pleasant. As we’re wrapping up he asks if he can get my number or business card. Typical me move I give him my phone number. Yep, bad move I know. Anyways he then called me around 10:30pm the next night and I decided it wasn’t in my best interest to answer. I realize I was making this more awkward than it actually was but I felt weird about the whole situation and didn’t know if getting coffee with this hot dad was really the best idea. Anyways I avoided that coffee shop for a while and just returned to it yesterday for the first time in months. Low and behold there he is. I put up my hood and hoped my headphones scream, “please leave me alone.” Guess they didn’t because he came over and asked if it was in fact me. He then asked if I had heard about our new football coach (Of course I had) and talked for a while about where he had applied and heard back from. He then said he’d call me sometime soon so we could meet up and discuss my school. Yea I know it isn’t THAT weird but it was just another peculiar encounter.

3. The bearded old man

On this particular occasion I did have my headphones in and this man still thought I wanted to talk to him. It was a rainy day so I was sporting my paisley rain boots. Let me paint a visual of this man first. He was about 60 years old with a gray beard down to the middle of his chest and hair down to his shoulders. He had on sunglasses, a leather jacket, black jeans and black boots. He walked up to me and asked where I got my boots because he wanted to get some just like them. I hesitantly answered “Target…” and tried to quickly stick my ear buds back in. He then proceeded to make some light conversation where I basically nodded and acted like I had just received the most interesting email.  I think he finally got the hint but not before he asked if he could “use my computer to check his email”. I told him I was leaving soon and had to take my computer and he replied while laughing, “I’m only kidding!”

It was just bizarre.

Here’s to more awkward encounters!

Leave a Reply

