The Socket to My Plug, the Meat to My Taco

Coming off a 6-month bender, triggered by a devastating breakup with a cheating ex-boyfriend, I never expected to meet my soul mate. During these 6 months, I did what every single 25-year-old girl would do: I drank and smoked too much, slept with and dated random guys, and traveled with my girlfriends (Chicago √, Toronto √, New Orleans √).

I was ready to conquer the Fall back in Philadelphia with all the sexy working class men still rocking their tans from the Jersey Shore. And then boom, a girls night out in the city turned into a night in bed with the man of my dreams.

I’ve always been told when one door closes another one opens (cliché). But I was not ready for this door to be opened. Maybe I toyed around with the idea of “it’s time to start dating people I actually like again,” but I wasn’t ready for the door to come bursting down. I was enjoying my mischievous single-girl nights doing whatever the fuck I wanted.

I was not sure what was going to come from this all-nighter with this new man of my dreams. I knew I was dying to see him again and that I hoped he would ask me out, and that I couldn’t sleep at night replaying over and over again every detail from our night.

Three months later, here I am happier than I have ever been with my dream man by my side. I couldn’t and wouldn’t want life to go on without him. Everything now just makes sense. It’s amazing when I look back at the 180 degree turn my life has taken in three short months of dating my soul mate. What I went through prior to meeting him was preparing me for what was yet to come.

Yes, I believe in fate. He’s the socket to my plug, the Romeo to my Juliet, the meat filling for my taco. (Coincidence that tacos are both of our favorite meals? I think not.) So to all the single ladies out there: I promise there is someone who is right for you. And he is trying as hard as he can to get to you. So in the meantime be patient and enjoy your version of a “bender,” whatever that may be. Because you never know when someone is going to come and sweep you off your feet. And if it weren’t for my friends dragging me to the bar on that October night, I would have never experienced true love.

Leave a Reply

